Showing posts with label Atelier series. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Atelier series. Show all posts

Tuesday, 7 August 2018

Nayu's Gaming Time #14 Dragon Quest Builders: the best game ever!

So amazing!!!
Those of you who follow me on Twitter (see link on the side) know that lately I've been playing a lot of Dragon Quest Builders (mine is the Nintendo Switch version, it is on PS4, & PS Vita. Usually when gaming I have several on the go which I switch between regularly, but all I've been playing (aside from a few mobile games) is DQB. I've never played any of the Dragon Quest rpg games, so I don't know any of the locations in Dragon Quest Builders or the monsters, although one kind look like both Hershey's Kisses chocolate 
and a monster in the Atelier series (possibly called a puni).

not my gameplay
 See how similar they all are? Most of the monsters are fun to look at, almost all want to kill me, but it's fun bashing them on the head with a hammer. That isn't the only weapon I have, but it's the most used because it's the best for bashing items which you can then use to help build up your base. 

I haven't played many sandbox games, which I think are games where you get to do a lot of building/meeting people, but this one has completely won my heart. It's just so cool! Yes there are monsters to fight, including some bosses, but they aren't the main focus of the game. Building is what DQB is all about, searching out new materials so you can craft tools and workstations to make items that will increase your base value and make the inhabitants happier. 
This is Miss Multi-Console's screenshot, I think she built this!!! You can find her on Youtube. I love watching her walkthrough while I play DQB, her reactions are similar to mine and hilarious.

There are four chapters, each using a different world (so yes you do have to build a base 4 times and relearn skills, but I love buildling so much I don't care.). After chapter one you can then access a freeplay mode which gives you so much space to build on, with items learned from chapters already completed being available once you get the materials and items needed to craft them. You can then show off some of your building prowess to others online. 

I'm currently on chapter 2, which isn't as vibrant as chapter one in colour because it's in a poisoned land, so I'm making good use of grass seeds to brighten my base. In chapter 1 I actually replayed it part way through because I wanted to change the layout of my base. I nearly did the same in chapter 2, because monsters kept breaking through my multiple walls and invading my base, but I'm slowly changing it without having to start from scratch. I had so many items I didn't want to do that this time. 

There are quests to be completed which help you learn new skills and explore new areas: some are in the land around you, others have to be accessed through portals. I do a lot of harvesting of items wherever I go, as well as completing the quests. I often don't complete quests for ages because I have such fun creatingn my base and making it look nice. 

My character looks just like this, with green eyes.
A big plus of the game is that I can play as a girl (unlike the latest Dragon Quest game which only has a male protagonist), wearing cute clothes that I will discuss in a later post. There is a lot of customisation of hair and eye colour so you can make your character be as cool as you like. I think I'm enjoying it so much because when I was little I would take a deck of cards and create corridors and rooms using the cards.  I'd make up stories about the 'houses' I made, using my imagination and occasionally a few toys. I absolutely hate Minecraft because it is pixal-ated (don't know how to spell that), I love Animal Crossing for the tasks and house decoration but I don't actually craft items on the same level as I do in the Atelier series, or Dragon Quest Builders. 

In the past it's been next to impossible for me to say what my favourite game is. I love some of the Final Fantasy series, I'm becoming a huge fan of Atelier and Hyperdimension Neptunia series. Now I can safely say Dragon Quest Builders is my favourite game, because it is light hearted, the monsters aren't super hard to beat (apart from the bosses), I get to build and rebuild rooms to my heart's content! 

Let me know if you've played Dragon Quest Builders! I'm writing this in a hurry so will include my own ingame photos in a later post.  There is a sequel coming out this year in Japan, so I'm hoping the European release won't be too far away!

Saturday, 27 January 2018

Nayu's Gaming Time #9 Pokemon mania including my first crystal Pokemon!

This is what a normal Mudkip looks like.
Recently including most of last week I've played a lot of Pokemon while I got over my mega strong meds. It's been a brilliant distraction from the evil side effects, with me being able to stand the numerous screen changes without wanting to stop playing (I'm looking at you, Animal Crossing!!!). I love it so much! 

It's the perfect game for me. I can explore without thinking I'll miss an event or somewhere I'm supposed to be as you get told where to go, and how long it takes you to get there doesn't matter (like in the Atelier series, which I love but can struggle with the time element). It's possibly aimed at children (I don't know if it originally was), so it's not super complex like Final Fantasy, it is mostly really light unlike Kingdom Hearts. I get to dress up in it, although it's taken a while in Pokemon Y which I'm currently focusing on. I get to farm berries, which I enjoy doing in games. I can level up for hours if I want, or simply get on with the story. 
Thanks to both catching Pikachu, and trading I've got Bulbasaur and Charmander, not Squirtle in

I've a bit of an idea how I hadn't tried it the 20 years it's been made over & over, but I can assure you I'll be playing it for the next 20 years and more! I'll post more in the future, but know that I'm in love with all the Pocket Monsters! Some give me the heebie geebies but most I find utterly adorable, even if they aren't obviously cute. Do you like Pokemon? Which are your favourites? Yes I love Pikachu but there are so many more and oh I have my first shiny Pokemon!
This came up in a google search, so not my gam play, but my Mudkip looked like this before it evolved - its pink! (& the sprite remains blue in the game which is only how I realised it was special)
Got the different coloured Mudkip from an online trade, and couldn't work out why it wasn't blue until I remembered about the uber rare crystal Pokemon. You can Google it, but basically they are different colours, and the possibility of catching one is so slim it's insane. I'm surprised someone gave it away in a simple trade, definitely very blessed to have it on my team as Mudkip can get to mega evolve, so I'm leveling it up as fast as I can.  And all the other cute ones. I am trying to go through the story, as I have some of the other games to play, so I can be a completionist later. I want 1 pokemon of each type with a high level, which I haven't yet got, so I'm working on that as I go along. If I can beat a trainer easily I know I'm at a high enough level. If I struggle, even when I switch Pokemon types, then I know it's time to level up. 

That's it for today's Pokemon talk - I've other posts to write and don't want to bore those of you who don't game. I think you can understand how much I love Pokemon right now! 
No idea who this cutie is, but love her hair!



Tuesday, 14 November 2017

Nayu's Gaming Time #7 Games I'm currently playing

No idea who this is, but she's cute, which many of my gaming characters are!
Hi all! As Autumn/Winter continues bringing colder weather I'm getting in more & more rest since my body so doesn't function properly at this time of year. That means lots of gaming is happening - yay! The arrival of my PS4 means I've mostly played PS4 games. That includes
Hatsune Miku Project Diva X: 
The songs on this Miku installment are fun, I like the stage style shows, and there's a novel way of getting outfits (although I wish that game play would stop during the outfit change so I can fully take in the beauty of the modules (the game's name for clothes)

Hatsune Miku Project Diva Future Tone 

The ultimate of ultimate Miku games, with over 200 songs (it's in 2 packs but I bought the bundle which allows me to switch hairstyles too! Sadly can't switch clothes/hairstyles between different characters. I mostly play as Miku, Luka and Rin. 
I've played all the easy songs, trying to do some normal ones but some of the button presses are more complex and extremely challenging. Normal level has more songs than easy including my favourites. I have recently downloaded the 2nd and 3rd bonus packs (think they were free...) which got me one of my favourite songs, Hand in Hand. You can see it on Youtube. I've watched a few PVs, where you can take photos at any point, which are then shown as the unfortunately short loading screen images! 

World of Final Fantasy


This is super cute, I love the FF10 style of skill upgrades for all the monsters captured. I haven't got too far yet, but I'm absolutely loving it! The inability to save whenever I want does limit when I play it, as I need to allow at least an hour because I've no idea where the save points are. I'm so fortunate to have ended up with a 1st day release version, so I can happily have the Japanese voice over!! I always prefer this to English.
Blue Reflection

Aside from the distinct lack of transformation scenes it is an incredible game. I love going on the missions to increase my character stats, and learning more about all the girls involved with Hinako. The fight scenes most definitely have a magical girl feel! 
Right now on my PS3 I'm working through
 Atelier Totori

This is after the frustrating Atelier Rorona which I did want to give up on - the time limit restriction was insane, and meant I couldn't explore as much as I usually do. Thankfully Totori's limits aren't that obvious. I am restarting the game because the parts I've played I did things I really didn't need to do (which I think advanced the time along), so by starting from the beginning I'm hoping to save a few days. I absolutely love this game! Totori is super cute and funny, trying to stand up to her older sister who doesn't want her to be an adventurer. Every element is charming and I'm so playing this again (unlike Atelier Rorona...)

That's it for this round-up - next time I'll focus on my Nintendo 3DS games! I'd love to hear what you're playing on recently. 
.
I mostly play on my own, which is still super fun!